Starting From Scratch

TerrierBhoy7

Starting From Scratch

I wrenched open my eyes into bright sunlight and the hustle and bustle of Trondheim station slowly filters through. It took a moment to adjust to the surroundings, quickly doing so as I realised that a man was shouting just behind me and hands were pushing me out of the way of the doors. I grab my case and hop down from the train. As I scanned the platform something did not look quite right. I was sure that I had been to Trondheim before, quite sure in fact, but the sign said Trondheim so Trondheim is where I must be. I follow the crowd out of the station and onto the street outside and I turn back to look at the station entrance, some say it is famous for the architecture, and then it hit me - I had been here before, as a student, I had taken a gap year to Norway and I had my picture taken by the entrance. Again the little voice spoke up, a digital camera, a picture, yes! I was posing for a picture with my friends. Out my laptop comes and I find myself sitting down on a low wall next to a coffee stand. July 1984 – Trondheim. I race through the album, occasionally pausing to laugh at the drunken poses and ogle Norwegian girls, until I come to the picture of me, Zak and Carla under the station clock. I look up to the clock; I look back at the screen ten inches from my face.

“How can this be?” I ask the startled-looking overweight pigeon hoovering up breadcrumbs by my feet. The clock is clearly different. Maybe there is another way in I muse.

“Excuse me, is there another way into the station?” I ask.

“I’m sorry, that is the only one” A middle aged woman replies to me. Weird.

I gaze at the photo in disbelief, back at the clock. “I must have had a bang on the head, pull yourself together Tommy!” A quick glance at my watch says I am heavily late.

“Damn!” I hail a taxi and clamber into the back seat.

“Lerkendal please.” We back up and cut into the flow of traffic.