A vicar in a new Parrish...

robterrace

Sometimes in life, theres a decision that had to be made. This was one of those moments.

I slid into the train seat as I left the life I'd known for the past few months behind, having been dropped at the station early on that morning, with just a few pounds to my name, no home, no job, and just the clothes on my back as my only belongings.

This was a journey into the unknown, as I had in my pocket, a letter which provided the unlikely solution to my problem, but that would come to light later on.

I'd spent the majority of my working life in football. Never good enough to make it as a professional, I jobbed around the local non league, playing in the Northern Counties leagues, before deciding to take my coaching badges.

Making the move from playing to coaching is never easy, but I found it a lot easier than most, finding employment in the Football in The Community Department of one of the local sides as I took first the FA guided coaching awards, before moving on to taking the UEFA 'B' and 'A' licences.

It was just after finishing the final rung of this progression that things began to go wrong.

I'd passed the Pro Licence in the January, and had been on a night out with my colleagues to celebrate this, when it happened.

In a small town centre bar, I noticed that one of the patrons was harrassing a young woman, and not taking no for an answer, decided he was going to start hitting her. I went walking across to him, and told him that he was out of order, to which he swore at me, and threw a punch.

The punch wasn't powerful, as the effects of alcohol dulled his reflexes, and he couldn't see where I was due to the light, and it was easily avoided, and I swung back with my fist, in an aim to defend myself. It connected with the side of his head, and he dropped like a sack of bricks.