"What's the opposite of a superlative?" A Scotland story

Jambo_4eva

Here goes, sorry about the last attempt people, it was my mistake. Should control my CM games time, but it just proves how addictive the game is, and why I started playing it in the first place! icon_wink.gif

“ What a failure,†I said to David on my right-hand side. I took a sip of my chilled can of Guinness, before continuing. “ I mean, England, a crap nation, let’s be honest, can get through, and we can’t even get qualify the whole competition?â€

We were watching the Euro 2004 finals, with England in action against Switzerland.

What we watched before the conversation was one of the flukiest goals ever; Wayne Rooneys “wonder-strike†(off-target as David pointed out), cannoned off the post, and struck the Swiss goalkeeper on the ball, and it fired into the back of the net.

The oldest ‘keeper in the competition looked dejected, Wayne Rooney the “wonder kid†(fat *******, as David correctly added) zoomed off in celebration “the fastest he had ever run in his life,†according to David. He doesn’t know, however, despite his size, that Rooney is infact very speedy! Shows how much he watches the game, really...

But, while watching the ninety minutes drag away, with the continuing comments from Dave, who I met during my schooling days almost twenty years ago (It’s sad to think, isn’t it? Twenty years is a really long time, I’m getting older, aren’t I?)

In the final few minutes, as England had almost certainly sealed their place in the next round, I thought more about Scotland. We’re a failure, I told myself continually and I also reminded myself there’s nothing I could do about it....

Oh how wrong was I!

Here goes, sorry about the last attempt people, it was my mistake. Should control my CM games time, but it just proves how addictive the game is, and why I started playing it in the first place! icon_wink.gif