Strikers in a 3-5-2

I've got a 3-5-2 tactic in mind. Essentially it's got 7 players in rigidly defensive positions - a back three, and four across midfield blocking the opposition midfield - leaving three players who will be the crux of the team, the creativity and the goal threat. The four defensive midfielders should leave me with a man over in midfield. I thought about giving him a deep-lying playmaker role and putting more emphasis on the wingers to support the attack. Instead I'm going to make him a box-to-box midfielder, carrying the ball out of defence and linking up in attack. I'm thinking about ticking him as the team's playmaker. So far, fairly straightforward.

Now, for the two strikers. I've never used one before but I'm thinking a trequartista may be what this team needs: the one player breaking out of the rigid lines, drifting to the flanks, and attacking goal. Partnering him, I'm thinking a target man who will lead the line, receive the ball with his back to goal and lay it off to the trequartista (and box-to-box midfielder), and even attack goal when the trequartista is crossing or playing through balls. I will probably set up two formations, one with the trequartista in the Striker position and one in the AM position, to suit whichever individual's natural position it is.

My question really is will the trequartista attack goal like I want him to, running at defenders with the ball and running on to through balls from my target man? They're things I'd expect a deep-lying forward to do, but might he not drift to the flanks as a trequartista would?

And if I am going with a trequartista, is a target man a suitable partner or should I be using a nippy little poacher who will run on to the trequartista's through balls? I'm not really thinking of a big lump centre forward, he needs to be decent as a striker as well as having technical ability to hold up the ball or be used to play one-twos with.