My biggest beef with iFHM....and how to fix it...

Edit: I mean iFMH!!

Marc,

I have great appreciation and respect for the way you (and some other SIers) make yourself available to us in the forums.

I've been playing FM for about five years on my Mac and I was ecstatic when SI first introduced FMH for the iPad.

I understand the limitations of the handheld game and don't expect it to ever replicate the Mac version completely. However, I do enjoy it and I believe FMH can be a lot better with some major, yet very doable, tweaks to its visual presentation.

My basic premise is that most of us play FM because:

1-we love football...obviously.

2-we're interested in the strategy of football

3-we love the stats, data and ratings that play such a huge role in the FM game

In response to those three criteria, FHM offers:

1-football...yes, it's in the game!

2-strategy...yes, also in the game. Although we will debate about the pros and cons of the match engine, AI, etc in every version of the game, strategy is present in the FM game.

3-this is where the game fails horribly. If you're still interested in my opinion, I'll offer some instances below...

-- why should I have to scroll through EIGHT pages just to see all the info pertaining to one player? On the sizable iPad screen, this should all fit into no more than two or three pages.

-- why should we have to scroll to see the entire league table? It could easily be a slightly smaller font, put in two columns and viewed on a single screen. Same as all the team and individual stat categories.

-- player searches also take too much scrolling and moving around. There's no reason we should be able to see twice as many results on a single screen.

-- same thing for the mail. Information that could all fit into one screen is spread out over numerous screens.

-- the list goes on and on...team selection, formations, detailed views of the squad....