Opposition Instructions

I started playing around with Opposition instructions in last year's version of FM, simply because I found myself becoming too robotic in giving them - close down/weaker foot for wingers, tight marking for a dangerous CM, etc. The results were mixed, though on a few occasions I did manage to make headway. For example, "never" closing down an anchorman when I wanted to keep things organized in midfield and not overcommit stupidly helped, as did the tight mark/never close down non crossing not so clever wingers like Theo Walcott.

In this version, it seems OI's have more of an impact, and for a few pre-season matches, I gave that responsibility to my Assistant. I found him using OI's much more sparingly than I did. Generally, against equal opposition, I tend to use OI's on four players. It got me thinking more about the "never" Opposition instruction. For example, a weak link DC with poor passing, or a poacher with poor decisions, as well as the impact of "always" instructions on the overall tactic and team shape. This is probably most relevant in central midfield - for example, having "always closing down" on the side where you've already got a BWM would result in players around him getting drawn out of position - perhaps decent for an area where the opposition is using an inside forward, for instance, but more often than not resulting in players going all over the place and too many gaps.