Struggling to defend against crosses playing a 4231

Hi guys, I'm a FM veteran and have been tinkering with tactics for FM13 since the new patch came out. I'm currently into the second season.

First season I played with Napoli and did extraordinarily well, starting with a defensive 5-4-1 formation and then developing a narrow 442 diamond formation in the latter parts of the season. No real problems there, although I wasn't too focused on tactics as I was still getting used to everything else new in FM13.

Second season, I took over the Liverpool job after rodgers was sacked (49 points, 10th place :thdn: ). Brought in some solid young attackers, got Llorente on a free and decided I was going to build a team to play some attractive attacking football, that exploited space and controlled the centre of the pitch.

Generally things have been going fantastic. I have the ability to unlock the sternest of defences and I always play well through the midfield. However there are two types of goals I concede regularly which are absolutely infuriating and the bane of my existence:

1. Attackers getting played through my high high defensive line on the counter when they really should have been marked.

2. Low crosses from out wide or just the edge of the box near the byline, into a defended, organised box that inevitably go in.

I'm looking for help on the latter of those two goals (ie. defending in the box against low crosses).

FORMATION/TACTICS

My general tactic for home matches and matches I expect to win is to play an attacking 4231

www.i.imgur.com/FgdjIh.jpg

The basic idea is to have a short passing philosophy that gives me control of the midfield, using fullbacks for width in build up play. In attack, the aim is to use any of the TQ, CF, or IFs to play on the other attackers through the defense. I score a good variety of goals, with assists distrubted to all four quadrants.