From the quadruple to fourth place, a story of tactical confusion

I am playing as Tottenham, beginning the fourth season of my save in FM12. Season 3 was a huge success, as the team won the quadruple: Premier League, Champions League, FA Cup, League Cup. As a manager, I went from a relative unknown whom my stars had trouble motivating themselves to play for to turning down jobs with England and Man Utd. The board finally went ahead with plans to build a new stadium. The future could not be brighter in North London.

Here is the squad with positions

squadendofseason.png

And the team stats:

teamstatsv.png

We played with two tactics:

Home:

homegw.png

Away:

awayng.png

We led the league in goals scored, and conceded fewest in the league. We hit a dry patch in the spring, but after a visit to Cleon's amazing "Understanding Your Tactic" thread, I tighted up my formation, adjusted my shouts, and went on an absolute tear to wrap things up.

And despite that, things have been disappointing ever since.

I made a few signings to start season 4, but nothing major. The biggest signing was to bring in Shawcross for extra defending depth and to tutor youngsters. In reading the forums and revisiting the Tactical Theorems and Frameworks, I learned a few things about my tactic that I set out to correct in Season 4:

1. Playing a Trequarista at AMC and a Poacher as my lone striker was creating supply issues to my striker. Even though Bony scored 30 goals, he would disappear for games at a time. I need to put either my AMC or my FC in a support role to create better link-up play.

2. I was better off playing my FBs as Wing Backs instead of Full Backs in order to support my AML and AMR.

3. Between Sandro, Fellaini, Hamsik, Alberto Sanchez and Ruben Yttergard Jenssen, I had a tremendous amount of skill and versatility in my midfield, but I often struggled to create the right midfield parings between my main tactics.