Complete noob, after some basic advice

Hello folks

I've been playing FM14 for about a week now. This is the first time I've ever played a football manager game. I decided on going for the 'Classic' mode, as the full game seems way too in depth for me.

I don't want to manage a top club. I feel that if I start as Barcelona/Bayern/Whoever, then all I can do with the team is stay at the top. I like the idea of progressing through the ranks, building up a club. I've chosen Barnet (Skrill Prem) as my team of choice.

My first season goal was to get promoted. I finished 2nd but lost in the playoffs. Second season had the same goal, but got lots of help through an affiliate club (Colchester) that loaned me a few really good players for free. Won the league by a country mile as well as the FA Trophy. Good season.

Third season is where it goes downhill! I re-negotiated a load of contracts that were due to expire, right before the end of the 2nd season. Then their new big bonuses for promotion kicked in a few days later! Criminal! Managed to pick up some really decent players for free on low salaries too.

Then I got my season expectations. I thought they would be simply to survive relegation. My 3 options were: Finish top half, playoffs, promotion. This seems ridiculous to me.

Now into the season, I am simply getting destroyed by everyone. My players stand around, don't tackle and give the ball away constantly. Meanwhile, the opposition all seem like they're Man City in disguise.

So some questions:

1. Is it actually possible to take a lower division team and make them succesful? I'm not talking about winning the Champions League overnight, but over time, can you take a lower league team into the Prem and challenge for it?

2. Contract renewals. Is it best to leave them until they are about to expire? I really got caught out by this.

3. Am I alone in thinking my expectations for this third season are really unrealistic? Surely I should just be looking at survival.