King's Lynn Football Club

chrissawyer21

King’s Lynn Football Club

Football Manager 2008 with the 8.0.2 patch update

Background

All my life I have loved football, and I have always dreamt of being a professional footballer. I started playing Sunday football when I was ten in the hope that one day I would be scouted and progress to become a professional.

Before I knew it, I was 30 still playing Sunday league football. I couldn’t continue to play because of a long term injury and decided to take up management. I took over a well-known local club and gained a UEFA ‘B’ coaching licence and a degree in Football Studies. We payed our players £10 win bonus and competed strongly in the FA Vase but never got near the final. In the FA Cup we never once got past the Preliminary Qualifying Round.

We won the league two years running but couldn’t be promoted to the BGB Southern Football League Division One South/West due to ground grading. With my success rumours were circulating I could be in line for bigger management jobs. I was excited by this prospect but did not for one moment for see what was going to happen.

One Saturday evening I was watching match of the day when I received a phone call.

“Hello, is this Chris Sawyer?”

“Yes, who is calling?”

“It’s Liam Winkleman, Chairman of King’s Lynn Football Club”

“Ohh, how can I help you?”

“I would like to offer you the job as manager of King’s Lynn Football Club; could you come to the ground tomorrow to discuss the matter?”

“No problem and thank you for the call”

I was incredibly surprised to hear that a highly successful semi-professional football club who were just promoted to the Blue Square North for the 2008/09 was interested in signing me as their head coach.

I struggled to sleep the following night wondering what sort of contract I was going to be offered, and I was also about to be offered a job to manage a team that get average attendances of over 1,000, 1,000!