German 3-Liga and Reserves - How does that work?

Hello all,

I've just finished my second season in FM13, where I've been managing Borussia Dortmund for the last twelve months. In the first season in-game (I was at Wigan Athletic), so 2012-13, Dortmund II (an U23 / reserves team of sorts) were in 3-Liga, the third-tier German division, beating Schalke II to the title.

When I took over in May 2013, I was asked whether I'd like my U19 side to continue playing competitive football, but had no such question about Dortmund II (whom I don't manage - just make players available). Schalke II also weren't in the division for 2013-14. The game has set-up the sides for the 2014-15 season, and there are no Reserve sides in the division at all now.

How does it work? I was genuinely hoping Dortmund II would be able to have a competitive season, save me having to arrange 20+ individual friendlies.

Thanks in advance!

Gray, realtimeFM.net

Thanks for the response, Alex.

In the 2013-14 season they didn't have any matches arranged for them by the game, I manually set-up friendlies for them throughout the season, a couple of months at a time.

Question was mainly about how does the game decide who is in 3-Liga (a division I have selected as active), and why Dortmund II and Schalke II weren't in it for the 2013-14 season after finishing as the top two in 2012-13.

• 5 months later...

Hi guys,

is this issue fixed in fm 2015?

How big is the chance that a team, who promoted from Regionaliga to 1.Bundesliga have later a reserve team?

My experience is that the team never get a reserve team when the 2. team is not in tier 4 from the start.

regards

gb2003