Denial of a Goalscoring Opportunity

Why are players never sent off for DOGSO?

Can anyone provide any examples of DOGSO offences where the guy was binned?

I've not had a single DOGSO red card yet in my save, yet I'm six months into the season and have had five instances where, as a referee myself, I would have dismissed for DOGSO yet the player received no card or a yellow.

I can upload some happily to the bugs forum if I can establish whether or not this is actually a bug. I'm more intrigued as to whether DOGSO red cards actually happen or not, seeing as I always look at red cards in the match reports for all the leagues I have on now and very rarely see a red card for anything other than a bad foul in the middle of the pitch.

There are two sending-off offences that deal with denying an opponent an obvious opportunity to score a goal:

1. If a player denies the opposing team a goal or an obvious scoring opportunity by deliberately handling the ball.
  2. If a player denies an obvious goal-scoring opportunity to an opponent moving towards the player’s goal by an offence punishable by a free kick (direct or indirect) or a penalty kick

Criteria for deciding when to penalise for denying an obvious goal-scoring opportunity:

1. The direction of the play.
  2. The location of the foul.
  3. The proximity of the player to the ball.
  4. The probability of controlling the ball.
  5. The location and number of opponents.
  6. The opportunity for the attempt on goal.

With all that under consideration - it's probably listed as "Professional Foul".

If it's a rough tackle denying a goal then it's probably listed as "Violent Conduct".

No.

Rough tackle is Serious Foul Play... not that the reasons are listed with reds on FM (not that I see anywhere anyway). You're right that the correct term for DOGSO is professional foul, but is there actually any red cards for professional fouls/DOGSO offences within FM?