[FM 12] The Graveyard Shift

Boycott

astronomers-may-now-fully-understand-why

Time is the best healer so goes the phrase. But is this really true? Our understanding of the complexity which is time remains as much philosophical as empirical. Some of the world's most profound works have been buried in time. We live in an age where what someone owns - regardless of how it is obtained - is celebrated more than what someone does. And more increasingly than ever it's not intellect, culture and work which is the pathway to pursue, but shallowness, greed and bottom feeding. This is a fundamental problem with society. But I'm not a leader, politician or activist. I'm a football manager.

Football is a valuable part of society. It brings people together, brings a [brief] halt to troubles and is a bearer of community. Football has always been more of a game in a pure sense. Until money has taken over. Is there glory in spending hundreds upon hundreds every year? Is there glory in the rich getting richer? The elite are on a table of their own. But I'm going to do something about this. I'm going to resurrect the forgotten halcyon's from a different world or die trying*.

*by that I mean getting the sack but that doesn't sound so cool does it...?

I've chosen FM 2012 because it's my favorite edition of the more recent games as in my opinion it strikes the closest balance between a simulation and fun. I have England, Spain, Italy and Germany loaded to the lowest leagues available. These will be the set in stone nations and as time goes on we'll add some more. In the next post you'll find out my first port of call.

3995.png&h=288&scale=crop&w=288&location

THE PAST