About improving the balance

Hi,

I'm presently having a save with Padova in Serie B, and the side is one of the promoted sides form serie C and is predicted to be 18th on 19 teams. The balance is currently ~2M and my transfert budget is about 500k. I have have many players on loan and for the first season, I will use only loans or free agents, while scouting for cheap wonderkids for Serie B/mid-Serie A level. My question is in how much time i could realistically -and significantly- improve my balance and budgets (for exemple transfert budget of 10M)?

I really hate to take first division teams even if I'm pretty new to FM, as i prefer to build a team myself, but the downside would be that I'll be spending at least 4-5 seasons to just build up the financial aspect of the club, not enjoying the coaching itself (recruitment, tactics with players that fit in, etc. I may resign to do a save in Championship, at least the clubs are already rich and to top-quarter has good finances...

How do you guys manage to improves finances in clubs with very low balance and leagues that do not give as much money as English leagues?

Keep a tight reign on what you can control - the transfer and wage budgets.

Player contracts an be a killer if they have automatic rises in them (10% annual for example)

Get rid of any 'old wood' in the squad, they are probably the bigger earners, replace with younger and cheaper.

In tight financial situations I have a wage structure in place and stick to it:

Key Player contracts share 30% of wage budget

First Team contracts share 30%

Rotation/Backup contracts share 30%

Hot Prospect/Youth share 10%

The challenge in this save is to reach financial stability, if this can be achieved alongside success on the pitch then the process will be much quicker.

If you are only enjoying the football side of the game then a bigger, richer club might be better suited.

Thanks for the answer, @Snorks, it's appreciated.