Sleeping problems

No it's not connected to the PC going into sleep mode!

Does anyone have or has had sleeping issues associated with playing FM? I've been playing for many years and it's always been an addictive game that does take over my free time. Other more casual games, I have no sleep issues. Last year I stopped playing because I was literally getting an hour or two of sleep every night over a period of time. I wasn't actually staying up late, in fact I'd stop at 9pm to go to bed at 10pm to clear the mind, 

So as we're all on lockdown now, I couldn't help myself and loaded up my old save yesterday. I played about 3 or 4 hours over the course of the day, knew I'd probably regret it and I did. Bed by 10pm only to be consumed by thoughts of squad building and whether to turn my BWM to CM (def). Bit sad isn't it but there you go. It was a nightmare, I just couldn't get the game out of my head, ended up sleeping at 3am and top it all, my baby son decided to wake up an hourly early than usual so I got 2 hours sleep.

Not directly saying 'FM causes disturbed sleep' as other immersive games will cause this in some people as well but I do want to play it. It's been a big part of my life for over 20 years and I want to find a place for it but not at the expense of my health. Does anyone have any experience with this or strategies to share?

Edited by bamb00zle

There is little doubt that CM/FM is and can be pretty addictive ( like most video games tbh).  At the start of my  time playing the game, I would certainly do marathon sessions late into the night but that started to have an impact on my job and family.  Consequently I now limit my playing to sessions of about an hour, maybe only twice a day and that has helped, although moderating the forums for the last 11 years has also taken up a lot of time.