Attacking 4-2-4 formation. Hints are welcome

Dear FM'ers,

This is my first time sharing a tactic. As I really want to play 4-2-4, with a potential superteam in the future, I chose PSG to test this tactic. This 4-2-4 system seems to do wonders in the domestic league, but I can't quite get it right in the UCL. Every time I'm (on holiday) getting knocked out before the semi's. First test I set the mentality on Very Attacking. Second test I changed it to Positive. The results are almost the same.

What are some tweaks I can make?

Holiday Test Results:

4-2-4.2.png

4-2-4.png

4-2-4 FM23.04.fmf

• 1 month later...

@darrylweezy Holliday-testing can be a bit misleading, as you don't have the option to tweak things (e.g. mentality) from game to game. The league results prove that your tactics are a decent starting point. However, against better competition (Champions League knockouts) you're probably too attacking.

One thing that comes to mind: you instruct your keeper to roll it out to the centrebacks and fullbacks but you're using extremely attacking wingbacks in that role. Once the GK has the ball, they will bomb up the field, making it impossible for the GK to roll the ball to them. I'd either remove "roll it out" or remove the fullbacks and just roll it to the centrebacks. Does it really matter if your keeper rolls it or throws it or kicks it?

The combination of low block and much higher defensive line leaves you open to balls over the top. I'd either change to mid/high block or drop DL to standard (if you want to keep the low block - which would be quite unusual for a big team like PSG).

• 1 month later...