FM Rookie - Getting Started with a New Squad

steve.battisti

Hi everyone,

Total FM noob here. Looking for advice. I'm very interested in the idea of starting at a small club, but I just don't understand a lot of the personnel stuff yet. But I want to! I've just taken over as HC of Alfreton, and I'm trying to figure out how to assess my team and make some moves. I have a transfer budget of $8.2k and %539k p/a available. I'm using all fake players.

Questions!

1. Advice for assessing my current squad? The team I've taken over seems to have some good, young talent. No one over 26. I have 6 players with at least 4 star current ability, heavily skewed to defense. What are some things you guys look at right away, like "I look at the depth chart, and any position where my starter isn't 2.5+, I look to upgrade." That's what I'm going with right now. Squad
  2. I have many people on my team who are listed as "non-contract". Some of them aren't half-bad (like Davies in the screenshot). Are these players on trials? I assume this means I must sign them to a new contract if I want to keep them? If I don't, when will I lose them? (It's currently mid-July.)
  3. I have several players on my squad who have unknown ability/potential. Why are they like this, and how do I get information about them? (I suspect they are just place-fillers.)
  4. I have two very solid (4-star current) GKs and several backups/U18 players with high potential and low current. Would it make sense to try to sell one of the two four-stars?
  5. There are four GKs on my senior squad. Again, do I try to sell/transfer the extras?
  6. There are several players where it indicates another team wants them on a loan, but it says, like "Chesham (free)". Does that mean they want the player, but they want them for free? What's the benefit of that?